Drop Dead Dangerous Issue #1 at This Year’s Komikon!

A few months back, our buddies at Comicgasm previewed Drop Dead Dangerous, an independent comic project from creators Chad Cabrera and Mike Banting. Issue #0 showed a lot of promise – the scripting was tight and witty (better than most independent projects I’ve read) and the art had the dynamic feel of classical action manga mixed with contemporary aesthetics. Fast forward to now, and the duo is proud to be launching Issue #1 in print for the very first time at this year’s Komikon.

Colors by Sam Gungon

I find Drop Dead Dangerous more ambitious than some other indie projects in the sense that it veers away from local trends; there aren’t any rehashes of 90s superhero costumes or bits of Filipino folklore entwined into the storyline. It’s a murder mystery taking place in what the creators call the weird, weird west, in which a knife-wielding serial killer resurfaces after seemingly dying a year prior. Cabrera does a great job of balancing the more macabre scenes with some snappy humor in the scenes between, without betraying the whodunit feel of the piece. Banting’s pencils and inks do a marvelous job of keeping the tone of each scene, seamlessly switching from dark dread in an attempted murder, to the lightness of an awkward job interview, to the horrifying splash at the end of the preview. You can check it out yourself at Drop Dead Dangerous’ Facebook page (make sure to “Like” them, too!), scribd.com, or drivethrustuff.com. You can also buy an old-school, gloriously handheld printed version of Issue #0 via indyplanet.com.

If that whet your appetite for some locally-created goodness, drop by this year’s Komikon. Chad and Mike will be selling the very first issue of Drop Dead Dangerous there! Make sure you head there early, since supplies are pretty limited. Komikon happens this Saturday, April 16, 2011 at Bayanihan Center, Pasig City. Here’s a map to the venue if you’re unfamiliar with the area. The event runs from 10:00am to 7:00pm.

How can you not want a piece of this awesomeness? See you at Komikon!

This entry was posted in Promotions. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Drop Dead Dangerous Issue #1 at This Year’s Komikon!

  1. Trixie says:

    This is going to sound freaky but here goes.

    Soo I kinda follow your girlfriend’s blog. I stumbled upon her site (Ukay Manila) last year, if not mistaken, while searching the interwebs for ukay spots in Manila. I eventually landed on Iambourgeois and started visiting her site every now and then. Well anyway, I’ve been reading her posts recently and saw a link to your blog (Worddoodling). I have read most of your entries, and can I just say that I am a fan of your clever writing. But that is not why I am posting this rather lengthy comment, but because this world, is a very small world.

    I read one of your latest entries about FICTIONTHING and lo and behold, after I clicked the link to the site, the page reveals itself to a photo of my brother’s (and his bestfriend’s) comic book on the page -DROP DEAD DANGEROUS. I seriously geeked out for a bit because the only time I ever saw this was at home, on his desk and in black and white. It’s just really coincidental that I am finding this here and from all the blog hopping I did.

    This comment is soo unnecessary but I couldn’t help myself so forgive me for cluttering this space.

    By the way, do you personally know Mike? Just curious. It would be cool if you did.

    And I realized as well how we both have ‘ramblings’ and ‘skinny’ as titles of our blogs.

    Ending this comment now. Cheers!

    -Trixie

    • Marco says:

      Hi Trixie!

      I actually know Chad through Anne. Your brother’s work is awesome! Maybe I’ll see him at Komikon? 😀

      Also, funky coincidence on the “skinny” and “ramblings” thing, hehe.

  2. Trixie says:

    His works ARE awesome. I don’t think he even realizes how awesome they are ^^

    Anyway, hope you have a fun time at Komikon! You’ll see him and Sam at the exhibitor’s table (Happy Lockjaw).

    Well, it was nice having this conversation. Rarely do I get to chat with a stranger blogger 😉 Have a great day now!

  3. RJ says:

    Darn, I don’t think I can make it to Komikon tomorrow D:

    Hopefully, I can get a copy at Metro Comic Con.

  4. Pingback: Drop Dead Dangerous #0 & #1 – Review « From The Tomb Magazine Comic Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: Drop Dead Dangerous #1 set for Komikon | Drop Dead Dangerous – Official Site

Leave a Reply

